Through a cracked lens…

A little more than two years ago, I dropped my new cell phone on the gravel in the parking lot where I was picking up my children from school. The screen cracked. Since then, my phone has never been the same. It still works and I use it for certain purposes, such as checking my email, posting news, playing games or such. I no longer use my cell phone for phone calls but it is still very useful to me, even with the cracks in the lens. Now, obviously, over time the crack has gotten much worse and now some of the glass is missing. I keep telling myself that maybe it’s time to remove my pictures and other data from the phone and just recycle it. Still, for whatever reason, I haven’t been able to let go of it. My phone is broken, but it is also useful to me. Rather than paying hundreds of dollars to purchase a new one, I will probably just hold onto this one until it finally quits on me. This doesn’t mean I’m happy with what I have. My pictures are not as easily viewed as before, I scratch my fingers when I run them across the glass so on. Needless to say, this phone has become a real problem for me, but I am attached. I can’t let it go and I plan to keep using it. Until further notice, my mobile experience will simply have to be viewed through a cracked lens.

When bad things happen to us in life, we can be cracked. It can damage us. Still, many of us continue to hold on and we refuse to let go regardless of damage done. We view the world through a cracked lens. Nothing is as pretty as it used to be and every time we attempt to get involved and put our hands to something, we are hurt. This may cause us to throw up our hands and cancel the service that connects us to the rest of the world. We may feel that it simply not worth attempting to pay the price to fix the lens we view the world through. When this happens, everyone is affected. We are not the only ones to feel the hurt. We are not the only ones to experience the results of our altered view. Because of this, I think it is important for all of us to understand the distortions of our own views. If we know where the flaws are, we can try to get around them. Better yet, if we simply pay the price, we can once again find a way to view the world the way it was meant to be viewed — through a lens that reveals the truth. It is a lens that doesn’t view the world through brokenness, or heartache and pain. It reveals a picture of the world as it is supposed to be viewed.

I can’t tell you if you need to let go of that cracked lens. Perhaps you feel the price you paid for it is too high. Perhaps you think a new lens will only experience the same fate as the first. We can never truly tell what the future holds, but I can say that holding onto an old cracked lens isn’t very profitable at all. I have very little use for my old phone, but I keep it anyway. It won’t take good pictures anymore, the screen keeps fading out and it no longer gives me the use I desire from it. Today is as good a day as any to look in your own lives and see if there are areas where the lens has been cracked. Has your lens cracked? Has it distorted your view? Don’t let it continue to hinder your life. Your personal view is one of the most important perspectives you will ever hold onto. Do you really want a cracked lens? Do you want to hold onto the pain of the past? Personally, I think we should all have a clear view. We should work from a clean slate. I know it’s difficult to let go of old things, but just like my old cell phone, there is truly no benefit to holding on. If your lens is cracked, I can’t tell you how to fix it. I can’t change your lens for you. All I can do is share with you the importance of a clear view. It affects everything we know about the world around us and how we react to it. Get past the old cracks and find the beauty that can only be seen through a clear lens. You can do it. Keep moving forward. It’s worth it. You are worth it. Your life is worth it. Let go of the past and open your eyes to a whole new world.

Leave a Reply

