Reading the wrong book…

I recently made the decision to take some college courses and try to open up more opportunities for my life.  I made it through a good bit of my work feeling pretty good about myself and the small accomplishments I had made toward completing my coursework.  Suddenly though, I was working on one of my assignments and found myself totally lost.  I had no idea why the material had shifted so heavily in another direction.  The work I was doing on my computer didn’t seem to match what I had read and taken notes on in the book.  In my research to find the problem, I found out that the book I had read for my classwork was the book I will be using in my next term.  All of my reading was in vain.  I had to start over and begin again.

In a world where every second counts, I felt like I had taken myself far off course.  I still am not certain of the ramifications of reading from the wrong book.  Will it leave me behind for the entire term or will i catch up and stay on top of each assignment?  Perhaps everything will be fine, and I can also look forward to having a jump on my course work in my next term.  I am not sure of where this will lead me, but I am sure of one thing.  I will get a better understanding from the book I am reading now, than from the one I was studying before.

I think many of us find ourselves “reading from the wrong book.”  I’m pretty sure we have all finished chapters upon chapters of different aspects of our lives, only to find that we were reading the pages of something that does not apply to us.

We all want our actions to make sense.  All of us have ambitions and hopes for great things in our lives.  To apply ourselves and bring ourselves to a point where we feel we can reach these dreams, we have to make sure we are lined up in the area of our learning.  We can’t be successful in any test life puts us through if the course we studied was not intended for us.  The chapters I had already read were beyond my level.  I will reach that level at a later time.  Right now I need to focus on where I am at.  Similarly, we all are on separate levels in life.  I cannot expect the lessons of your life to serve as a guide to my own.  I can learn from you, but my course work is much different than yours.  If I read the wrong book, I won’t succeed when I am tested.

As you continue through life’s journey, reach for the book that describes your life where it is now.  Don’t try to reach above or beneath the level of understanding of your current standing in life.  You have the necessary tools to excel.  Don’t read the wrong book.  Take up every opportunity to create hope for your life and apply it whenever you can.  You can pass this test you are going through.  You can ace your next quiz.  All you have to do is keep on track.  Aim for that promising destiny you believe in, but never seem to be able to grasp.  First, you need to check out your book.  Is it the right one?  Are your actions in life based on a clean heart and a pure intension or from something you learned on a television show or a magazine?  Study at your level.  Pass your test.

Leave a Reply

