Mirror, Mirror…

It’s funny how much the losers in so many movies remind me of myself.  I don’t completely understand why I feel this way, but I always seem to share similar attributes with the characters in the movies who seem to have no luck at all.  Is it that I am a loser myself, which makes it easy for me to relate?  Maybe it is that I am that guy who can’t seem to get it together no matter how hard he tries.  Truth is, I think I am that man.  But why are these movies so popular?  Are there more people out there, like myself, who fall into this very same category?  Maybe we all have these insecurities about ourselves.  I think Hollywood is aware of our insecurities.  Writers and producers always seem to try to paint the picture of their main characters as the common man.  If this is true, I may not be as alone as I think I am in this world.  Maybe we all see ourselves in dim light.

I can remember times in my past that I looked at my situation in life and thought to myself, ‘Nobody will ever want to be with someone like you.’  I have thought this about relationships, friendships, jobs, you name it.  I have felt failure in ever category imaginable.  I find it funny though because I also like myself.  I look at myself in the mirror and say, ‘You’re not so bad.  In fact you’re kind of cute, and funny, and just an amazing person who anyone should love to be with.’

Our insecurities shape who we become in the public eye.  People never want to be around someone who doesn’t like themself.  Question is, how can somebody like themself when no one around them treats them respectfully as a person.  It’s a double delimna.  It’s a scale that is hard to balance.  I don’t think as many people view us unfavorably as we might make ourselves believe.  We are just as much the perfect person in the movie as we are the loser.  This all depends on whose eyes we are looking through.  I would like to think that other people see me the way I see myself when I look in the mirror with encouraging thoughts.  Maybe we aren’t all that bad.  We should find courage in the promise we see in ourselves.

The next time you look in a mirror, don’t see the person that is a failure.  You are not a failure.  If anyone can look at you and tell you that you aren’t good enough to make the cut, I can say pretty assuredly, the same person who tells you that is struggling to make the cut themself.  We all deal with issues of insecurity.  It is the people who look in the mirror and believe the positives thoughts, who overcome these insecurities.  You are not a loser.  You are not a failure.  I look at my own life and worry about the areas where I have failed.  While sometimes that is a sad story, it still doesn’t make me any better or worse than the next person.  We all make good choices, we all make bad choices.  No one is immune.

Leave a Reply

